IKEA Hackers’ “Nimbus Luminous” DIY Light

Never have I seen a DIY that actively encourages the destruction of children’s toys when making a light, so this one really shines to me. I laughed excessively when I read the dissection instructions; it really is my kind of humor, which is very dark and morbid at times.

It’s a cloud. It’s pendant light. It is Nimbus Luminous! I made this after my wife stared enviously at the cloud light in a dessert restaurant. =) It is an easy, fun sized, and affordable project for a playroom. Let’s get started! Items: Solleftea lantern x1 Hemma lamp x1 Old unused teddies x 2 Glue…

via Nimbus Luminous — IKEA Hackers

I have seen other DIY’s like this one, I just loved this tutorial above the others because I could not not laugh at the dissection part.

Other Cloud Light DIY’s:

943c3ac7d105b48fd5298b931decf8f8 Found on Pinterest

INSTRUCTIONS:

What you will need:- Cotton Batting – Paper Lanterns – Flameless Candles – Hot Glue Gun Be sure that little or no heat is generated by the super cool flameless candles. Don’t leave your beautiful creation unattended. Step by Step instructions: 1. Pull at the cotton batting until it looks fluffy, light, and cloud-like. 2. Hot glue it to the outside of the paper lantern in various places. 3. Light the candles and stick them inside. 4. Hang the lantern wherever you’d like.

277999ece8491d635cc9ab5de6617d9c

Link to tutorial here

And these aren’t cloud lights, but I still liked the ideas:

16f060199ec61a08e5ba2e89e94314c9

CLOUD art installation at Olympic Plaza. Each string is attached to a light bulb that viewers can turn on and off, creating an interactive and changing light piece.

5b5d7367984f5de04db50dfb6c8b195f

Artist Tara Andris starts out her paintings with gold-leaf or silver-leaf to create luminous skyscapes.

f76c7faf363c87adfcad3d9adec8fb56.jpg

I had to get my Perler craft in.
DeivantArt artist The Playful Perler created this whimsical rainbow coaster set, complete with cloud holder and cork backing. You can make it or purchase from the artist here.

b7794c088fc6247d133ea46811786ab5

Travel to the Salar de Uyuni Salt Flat to walk among the clouds!

Make a Sky Album! Start snapping pictures today!

