Current Obsession: LEGEND of ZELDA

Big time fan of LoZ here. It’s been on my mind a lot recently. Maybe it’s because I haven’t played in such a long time. I am surrounded by constant reminders of it.

I got the book.

51O2J58KBOL._SX375_BO1,204,203,200_

This is my scripture. That and “Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.”

I’ve played most-of-but-not-all-of-the games (*currently weeping for lack of LoZ*). Everyone who has ever played a LoZ has struggled so hard hands have gone numb from white-knuckling various Gameboy, NES, N64, and Wii controllers. Ahh, good times (she says as she feels arthritis threatening to take its hold on her joints).

I have some framed art.

49fd6aebaeda8c2b872795fbd755a95a

“The Three Goddess of Hyrule” I got it from Etsy

I’ve constantly got the music stuck in my head.

Do doooo, dooo do didi dooo, doooo do di doooooooo, dodo doodidoo…..

You’re singing it now, aren’t you. 😛

I have my own ceramic Ocarina… can’t play it though.

39915-Legend_of_Zelda,_The_-_Ocarina_of_Time_(USA)-6

I have an irrational fear of this guy.

tumblr_mfeponOD1G1s19s89o1_1280

Nuuuuuupe

And of these:

tumblr_mn8dwfZQBJ1qiemkoo1_500

Don’t. Just… just don’t.

I have an undying love for concept art and story-telling, especially for Ocarina of Time and onward.

Oh, Ocarina of Time, how I love you. About as much as I hate your water temple level.

I have a stabbing annoyance for people that mix up Link and Zelda. Y’all need to stop calling the hero “Zelda.” His name is Link.

You know Link. He’s had quite a few faces. Surely, you will recognize one of them.

evolution-of-link.png

^LINK^ Cue holding-over-head-discovery music.

ZELDA is the PRINCESS. That constantly needs rescuing. But honestly, we all know she can secretly take care of herself. She’s just biding her time to take back her kingdom… aaaand to probably stick a knife in big Ganny’s back.

Nintendo should really make a game featuring her. Ever heard of “The Clockwork Empire”? It’s a great concept, by Aaron Diaz from dresdencodak.com, inspired by Anita Sarkeesian’s Tropes vs Women in Video Games, with Zelda as the adventuring heroine. It’s so great *squee*

d73ab55eaab6fd7828e0833287516bb2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

YAAAAAAASSS *bowing down* YAASSS QUEEN YAAAAAASSS

So great.

There is fanart out there that is sometimes BETTER than the games. Sometimes. Such as the webcomic “The Demon Road

Ugh, just look at it. So pretty it hurts.

1-2

I used to draw my own fanart in my preteen years, usually based off of Oracle of Ages & Seasons. I cherished the little tiny guide booklets that came with the games, until they were lost on a road trip. No idea where they went in my mom’s eggplant colored van. Maybe the tortilla dough my sisters and I left in the backseat cup holder to bake as a make-shift muffin in Texas heat mutated and ate the books…. Yeah, let that mull over in your mind a bit.

My absolute favorite art I’ve ever seen is this thing of beauty:

015685e8f975ef1e0e442d79fe191725

 

The latest game is Hyrule Warriors, and I’m rather in love with this new concept. It’s directly based off the popular game play of “Dynasty Warriors” where you hack-and-slash melee fight your way through hordes of enemies, with a delightful story to play along as well. You can recruit other members and customize characters in new outfits.

I absolutely love the jokes that surround Hyrule Warriors, especially the “What I Expected, vs What I Played” reaction gifs.

What I Playedtumblr_n9oop74Hm71s021dwo1_500

What I Expectedtumblr_nie45taOZz1u6u9edo1_500tumblr_n6z5zzH6cX1qj5jqso1_500

WHAT I GOT

 

tumblr_ncw5k0SPuH1qcivrbo1_r1_500tumblr_n981i7kcu31qk9g9fo1_400tumblr_nkrddemtvt1s27j91o1_r1_500

Overall…

tumblr_n6yweinxq91r8m9e8o1_250

BEST TUMBLR POST. BADDIES CAR RIDE, CUCCO SWARM, CRAZY LADY, MIDNA FLYING EVERYWHERE, DONALD GLOVER GIF, WEEPING PEOPLE! I CAN’T BREATH!!

I can’t wait to play. The three goddesses know I’m going straight for Gannondorf, as quick as I possibly can unlock his character. Stupid fascination with bad guys, why do I always go for the baddies? Every time! It’s uncanny! I feel like he’d be fun, just dark magic and Triforce of Power myself some destruction everywheMUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAA TREMBLE BEFORE MY MIGHT PUNY HYLIAN MORTALS

Yep, there’s my crazy. Right there^  All y’all know now.

