Happy Thanksgiving!

In the spirit of Thanksgiving, I’ll be listing the things I’m grateful for.

Starting with the pictures I snapped on the road trip to Ruidoso.
image
image
Sunset and moon rise. And they say Texas isn’t pretty.

image
This awesome space heater in my grandparents’ cabin.

image

I’m thankful for this jar of candy! 😁 Gran has been a grandparent for 25 years, she knows the tricks.

I’m thankful for Cornerstone Bakery in Ruidoso. Their empanadas are delicious!20151126_095312.jpg

I’m thankful for having 5 days to work on the rest of my homework. I have so much homework…. (3 extra credit papers, 2 study guides, 3 art projects, 1 PowerPoint presentation, 3 papers, 1 project, 8 quizzes *sweating*)

My gran saved the decorating to me! I had fun with the elves. My sister Ashley and I wrapped the red and gold presents and I made our own gift tags using scrap wrapping paper and markers.

I’m thankful for the town of Ruidoso, it’s beautiful and quaint and very relaxing.

DowntownChristmas-2.jpgGoogle image search, not my picture. The town looks exactly like this right now!

I’m very, very thankful for my family. I wouldn’t trade them for anything or anyone. I’m always laughing with them and we have traveled the world together spreading our loud obnoxious laughter.20151126_132712.jpg

My sister Brenna and my grandparents’ two papillons.

20151126_190354.jpgMy dad, Gran, and my sister Ashley cheering for UT during the Thanksgiving game against Texas Tech.

GO LONGHORNS!

download

And lastly, I am thankful to be alive. I have depression and I have gone through bouts of suicidal contemplation a few time in the past, high school was especially difficult. I have talked myself out of it every time because I think of all the people who would be hurting if I died.

I never thought I would live to see 21, and here I am, 25 years old and happier than ever and I have experienced amazing things. Now I’m planning on becoming a social worker to help others who are going through their own dark battles.

If you are going through some struggles, if you need to talk to someone, I am here, and you can turn to these services as well.

I got all my information from a wonderful web comic artist, you should read her work, she is amazing. Here’s the link to her Tumblr misspixnmix.

She writes two main comics called “I Do Not Have an Eating Disorder” and “Polyamory Isn’t for Everyone.” The stories are heart-wrenching and beautiful. She is so brave for sharing her experiences and I cannot express how much I appreciate her. Her style is wonderful too.

tumblr_lhw5tjvGXx1qee9tro1_1280

Page 005 of “I Do Not Have an Eating Disorder”

I particularly relate to her with the description of her demons, as I have a similar darkness that follows me around whispering lies and self-doubt to me.

Here are the links and phone numbers to help if you or someone you know needs them.

Crisis Chat – online chat for those struggling with thoughts of suicide who don’t feel up to talking on the phone.

IMAlive – online chat for those struggling with thoughts of suicide who don’t feel up to talking on the phone.

Australia:

Suicide line 1300 651 251

Lifeline 13 11 14

USA and Canada:

Hopeline 1800 SUICIDE (1800 784 2433)

Suicide prevention hotline 1800 273 TALK (1800 273 8255)

UK and Ireland:

Hopeline 0800 068 41 41

Samaritans 08457 90 90 90 (Rep of Ireland 1850 60 90 90)

France (thank you Tumblr et-un-raton-laveur):

Suicide Ecoute 01 45 39 4000

SOS Suicide Phenix: 0825 120 364

Emergency 112

NZ (thank you anonymous Tumblr):

0800 543 354

Finland (thank you Tumblr salriella):

Valtkunnallinen kriisipuhelin 01019 5202

More suicide lines for various countries

Remember, if you are ever in serious trouble, you can call emergency services. 

You are so important. Please take care of yourself.

Happy Thanksgiving!

